KISSlicer V2.0 Alpha Fault Reports

Re: KISSlicer V2.0 Alpha Fault Reports

Postby derdigge » 25 Jun 2019, 06:25

Hello pjr

Yes, i agree. This is interesting and a useful thing, to have a sliwer loop1.
Wouldn´t it be nice to have a setting for that? It might improve visual quality.

Thanks.
derdigge
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 23 Jul 2018, 07:19

Re: KISSlicer V2.0 Alpha Fault Reports

Postby pjr » 24 Jul 2019, 10:52

derdigge wrote:Speedsetting not honored correctly. Even on big plates where minimum layertime would not affect.

I have set

Top 30 (1800)
Perimeter 40 (2400)
Loops 80 (4800)
Solid 140 (8400)

...

So 60mm/s speed is here in gcode instead of ecxpected 80mm/s?

Thanks
derdigge


This is by design.

Perimeter is printed at perimeter speed
If loops is set to 2, there is only one loop inside the perimeter, so it runs at the loop speed
if loops is set to 3 or more, the loop directly inside the perimeter runs at the average of the perimeter and loop speeds

Peter
Please note: I do not have any affiliation with KISSlicer. Any advices given are offered in good faith. It is your responsibility to ensure that by following my advice you do not suffer or cause injury, damage or loss.
User avatar
pjr
 
Posts: 598
Joined: 05 May 2015, 10:27
Location: Kamnik, Slovenia

Re: KISSlicer V2.0 Alpha Fault Reports

Postby nurbie » 26 Jul 2019, 17:27

Not sure if this is Mac specific,
but,
when I d/l this:
KISSlicer_Mac64_v2_alpha_0.9.9.zip
and run it
I end up with version 1.6.3, not v2
repeatable

I have a Premium lic
nurbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 26 Jul 2019, 12:57

Re: KISSlicer V2.0 Alpha Fault Reports

Postby hacker » 30 Jul 2019, 16:50

nurbie wrote:Not sure if this is Mac specific,
but,
when I d/l this:
KISSlicer_Mac64_v2_alpha_0.9.9.zip
and run it
I end up with version 1.6.3, not v2
repeatable

I have a Premium lic


I haven't checked what's in the dropbox now, but I definitely downloaded it on mac and I have v2 0.9.9, could that be that you are running the old binary?
hacker
 
Posts: 145
Joined: 20 Aug 2016, 18:25

Re: KISSlicer V2.0 Alpha Fault Reports

Postby nurbie » 31 Jul 2019, 18:47

and,
like MAGIC
I d/l'd off dropbox for the 3rd time
and....
v2 is up and running!

NOW I can test some things that might actually contribute to r&d!

mumble mumble witchcraft mumble
nurbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 26 Jul 2019, 12:57

Re: KISSlicer V2.0 Alpha Fault Reports

Postby nurbie » 31 Jul 2019, 19:07

just because y'all might want proof:
Screen Shot 2019-07-31 at 6.55.43 PM.png
Screen Shot 2019-07-31 at 6.55.43 PM.png (195.92 KiB) Viewed 342 times

Screen Shot 2019-07-31 at 6.56.22 PM.png
Screen Shot 2019-07-31 at 6.56.22 PM.png (194.93 KiB) Viewed 342 times


Witchcraft!
nurbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 26 Jul 2019, 12:57

Re: KISSlicer V2.0 Alpha Fault Reports

Postby orcinus » 06 Aug 2019, 16:33

Apologies if this was reported before.

I'm getting some really weird stuff with v2.0 a 0.9.9 on bridging layers.
Check this out:

Image

This is the layer that precedes it:

Image

Checked the STL, looks fine.
No overlapping polys, no inverted normals, perfectly valid STL.
User avatar
orcinus
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 30 Dec 2014, 20:59
Location: Croatia

Re: KISSlicer V2.0 Alpha Fault Reports

Postby orcinus » 06 Aug 2019, 16:42

Looks like some bizarre rounding error, if i change the layer thickness from 0.2mm to 0.21mm, i.e. make it *slightly off* the height where the bridging begins, the little weirdo islands go away.
User avatar
orcinus
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 30 Dec 2014, 20:59
Location: Croatia

Re: KISSlicer V2.0 Alpha Fault Reports

Postby pjr » 07 Aug 2019, 02:49

orcinus wrote:Looks like some bizarre rounding error, if i change the layer thickness from 0.2mm to 0.21mm, i.e. make it *slightly off* the height where the bridging begins, the little weirdo islands go away.


I think you will find that it's a problem with the model.

KISS looks at the model at precise heights; I believe for 0.2mm layers, it is 0.1, 0.3, 0.5... The model surfaces, being made up of triangles, are not precisely flat, and when a top surface is (say) 1.5mm, some of this top layer may only be 1.4999999999mm. KISS will see the parts of the top surface that are at 1.5mm or higher and produce a layer at 1.6mm for those points.

So, when you are designing a model to be printed at 0.2mm layer heights, you need to ensure that top surfaces do not happen thereabouts precisely at mid-layer.

Peter
Please note: I do not have any affiliation with KISSlicer. Any advices given are offered in good faith. It is your responsibility to ensure that by following my advice you do not suffer or cause injury, damage or loss.
User avatar
pjr
 
Posts: 598
Joined: 05 May 2015, 10:27
Location: Kamnik, Slovenia

Re: KISSlicer V2.0 Alpha Fault Reports

Postby orcinus » 07 Aug 2019, 19:56

pjr wrote:I think you will find that it's a problem with the model.


The model is perfectly flat.
The area in question consists of flat polys all at the same height.

(Also, other slicers are not having similar issues with it.)

Think about it - for the behaviour from the screenshots, the very vertices would have to be the only parts of the polygons "sticking out" above the layer.
Does that seem possible or probable to you?
User avatar
orcinus
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 30 Dec 2014, 20:59
Location: Croatia

PreviousNext

Return to Alpha release talk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron