Cubepro gcode

Post Reply
joshhartung
Posts: 3
Joined: 08 Feb 2015, 17:06

Re: Cubepro gcode

Post by joshhartung »

Okay! I'm the disappointed owner of a brand-new CubePro Duo, a machine I've lusted after since it was released. No other printer ticks all the same boxes as Stratasys, so I supremely believed this printer would be able to produce prints at that level. Rigid, fully enclosed, heated chamber, dual extrusion for support... if only the damn software worked!

My machine: CubePro Duo, firmware 1.8A/V2

So I've spent the last couple days running down this and other forums, trying to get up and running first with KISSlicer and then with Simplify3D. Here is where I'm at so far:

1. I installed KISSlicer V1.4.5.10 and Cubeitmod V3.7 on my Windows 7 machine (Parallels on a Macbook).
2. I sliced the SAME model in CubePro.exe (then to .bfb thanks to CodeX) and KISSlicer. With KISSlicer I ran WITH the .ini set from https://groups.google.com/forum/m/#!top ... -k1hdxZA6I but I removed the language file AND the post-processor.
3. epop's header didn't work for me. I spent a LOT of time trying to get the printer past the "heating" stage that others have been stuck at, where the extruder hangs out above the catch box and doesn't heat up. When I finally grabbed the ENTIRE startup and ending sequence from a CubePro.exe, the printer went through startup and is now printing what looks to be an excellent print.

KISSLicer settings I changed:
Languages->Revert to English
Style->Style Name-> ABS Thickness 0.2
Support->Support:Medium, Inflate Support->1
Material->Material Name->ABS Cubex Thickness 0.2
Printer->Firmware->Post-Process->Delete post processor .exe, Uncheck Include Comments
Printer->Extruder Materials->Extruder 1 Material->ABS Cubex Thickness 0.2, Extruder 2 Material->ABS Cubex Thickness 0.2, Default Object Ext->Ext 1
G-code->Prefix and Postfix deleted

I've attached BOTH the output of CubePro.exe and the file I hand modified to work. You'll see the simple breakpoints indicated by a ^hackpoint comment. I have not yet started to pare this down to see the minimum required to move through the "heating" hang up, but I suspect that it's got something to do with the header... if I use epop's header with the full init sequence, it hangs at that same place.

As there are a lot of users out there who would like this to work, I'm going to suggest that we focus efforts of this thread on understanding the GCode and getting an update in to Hughes for Cubeitmod. I recommend we table or move the cartridge/bulk filament discussion to another thread. Here is what I see as a to-do:
  • Identify a "general" header and fields that need to be live updated (if any)
  • Identify an init sequence that works dependably
  • Identify a postfix sequence that works dependably
  • Make a running list of CubePro GCode (suggest Google Docs)
  • Anything else?
epop, maybe you can start with a single "status" post and files as I've done?

Let's get this done!
Attachments
KISSlicer_Trial1.zip
(811.82 KiB) Downloaded 382 times
MolhoPirata
Posts: 21
Joined: 30 Jan 2015, 11:51

Re: Cubepro gcode

Post by MolhoPirata »

I don't know if you checked a thread in 3DSystems, I printed with CubePro Trio a fine job with hugues cubitmodsafemod, try it out if you didn't yet.
Either ways CubePro has a new software update didn't try it yet.

The G-Code -> Select Extruder I would also like to know a fine one

Oh and just a thing, for CubePro you always have to change M208 for M108 when you use Extruder 2 and change M308 for M108 when you use Extruder 3, if I dont change them the print comes out completly trashy
Yodajammies
Posts: 5
Joined: 26 Jan 2015, 13:47

Re: Cubepro gcode

Post by Yodajammies »

Can you post a link to "hugues cubitmodsafemod"?
Hugues
Posts: 126
Joined: 11 Nov 2014, 03:40
Contact:

Re: Cubepro gcode

Post by Hugues »

Hi,
This is the link to download a safe version:


http://www.cubexupgrade.com/blog/
regards,
Hugues

www.cubexupgrade.com
joshhartung
Posts: 3
Joined: 08 Feb 2015, 17:06

Re: Cubepro gcode

Post by joshhartung »

Cubeitsafemod produced a filament error on my printer (Firmware V1.8A/V2). As usual, it didn't heat the extruder. I think this is something to do with the header not having appropriate information in it, but I'm not sure... the heating code is in the gcode for sure. The file is attached.
Attachments
TestPart_Cubit.zip
(832.8 KiB) Downloaded 333 times
Epop
Posts: 38
Joined: 23 Jan 2015, 00:48
Location: South Ogden, Utah(USA)

Re: Cubepro gcode

Post by Epop »

I'm not very professional about it, I don't have a list... and its late... but... I guess I uploaded a crap header? sorry. :(
... I don't see where I posted a full header... but I'm pretty squintie atm... so...

Current Prefix-

Code: Select all

^Firmware:V1.00
^Minfirmware:V0.00
^DRM:0000000000000
^PrinterModel:CUBEPRO
^MaterialCodeE1:-1
^MaterialCodeE2:-1
^MaterialCodeE3:-1
^MaterialLengthE1: 0.000
^MaterialLengthE2: 0.000
^MaterialLengthE3: 0.000
^ModelHeight: 0.000
^LayerCount: 1
^LayerHeight:0.2
^Supports:-1
^Raft:-1
^Density:Hollow
^Pattern:Diamond
^Version:321-636
^Time:20 
M404 S40
M227 P250 S250 G300 F700
M228 P0 S250
M231 P0 S0
M232 P2500 S2500
M233 P1850
M106 P100
G4 P0
M601 P2 S30 F5
M228 P0 S1
M227 P1 S1 G1000 F1000
M240 S1400
Copied directly from a Cubepro.exe file- everything above the initial extruder heat/wipe. most of it I have at least an idea of what it's doing. I left the unknowns in for the time being-though I have gotten it to run with the simple BFB style headers in with M104, M551, M101 inserted.

Current extruder select-

Code: Select all

M<EXT+1>04 S<WARM<EXT+1>> P1
M<EXT+1>04 S<TEMP> P1
G1 X128.000 Y136.000 Z5.2000 F9000.0
G1 X128.000 Y161.000 Z5.2000 F9000.0
G1 X128.000 Y157.000 Z5.2000 F9000.0
M<EXT+1>04 S<TEMP>
M55<EXT+1> P1500 S50
G1 X128.000 Y136.000 Z5.2000 F9000.0
M601 P2 S30 F5
M404 S0 P1
CubePro has offsets set in the firmware/setup-options so any extruder will goto the correct location simply based on the previous M word. this is the cube pro Wipe section- normally ended with ^InitComplete

Current extruder deselect-

Code: Select all

^ BfB-style
M<EXT+1>04 S<WARM<EXT+1>> P1
Current Postfix... cubepro will detect the end of the program and park. I haven't checked to see if this section is actually necessary.

Code: Select all

M104 S0
M204 S0
M304 S0
finetune.zip
a file i made with kiss... just now. g'night
(22.28 KiB) Downloaded 365 times
3D Systems - CubePro Trio (triple head printer)
--Modified to RepRap standards using Duet and the x4 expansion
-e3d Kraken, heated bed added.
Kisslicer Pro licenced
MolhoPirata
Posts: 21
Joined: 30 Jan 2015, 11:51

Re: Cubepro gcode

Post by MolhoPirata »

joshhartung wrote:Cubeitsafemod produced a filament error on my printer (Firmware V1.8A/V2). As usual, it didn't heat the extruder. I think this is something to do with the header not having appropriate information in it, but I'm not sure... the heating code is in the gcode for sure. The file is attached.
That didn't produce the error, what produced is your Select extruder g-code

try this out, you have to change some things later but that'll do for now i guess


; Select extruder, warm, purge

; BfB-style
M107
G1 X108.000 Y136.000 Z<Z> F6000.0
M<EXT+1>04 S<TEMP> P1
G1 X108.000 Y136.000 Z<Z> F2000.0
G1 X108.000 Y161.000 Z<Z> F2000.0
G1 X108.000 Y158.000 Z<Z> F2000.0
M<EXT+1>04 S<TEMP>
M55<EXT+1> P250 S40
M108 S150
M106
G4 P10
M103
G4 P5
G1 X128.000 Y136.000 Z<Z> F2000.0
G1 X128.000 Y157.000 Z<Z> F6000.0

and this on your g-code prefix, after time: line

; [mm] mode
;G21
; absolute mode
;G90
;Aquecimento
G1 X108.000 Y136.000 Z5.2000 F9000.0
M404 S40 P1
Yodajammies
Posts: 5
Joined: 26 Jan 2015, 13:47

Re: Cubepro gcode

Post by Yodajammies »

Does anyone have (or have a link to) the cubepro software ONE version back from current? I stupidly updated the software last week (v1.42) and now CodeX cannot properly decode .cubepro files.
Lsutehall
Posts: 8
Joined: 18 Dec 2014, 11:44

Re: Cubepro gcode

Post by Lsutehall »

Yodajammies wrote:Does anyone have (or have a link to) the cubepro software ONE version back from current? I stupidly updated the software last week (v1.42) and now CodeX cannot properly decode .cubepro files.
I've got both 1.25 and 1.38, but at 13 meg each they're over the forum attach limit. I can email if you'd like?

Disappointed to hear that Codex can't decode the new versions. Do we have contact info for the author of Codex?
MolhoPirata
Posts: 21
Joined: 30 Jan 2015, 11:51

Re: Cubepro gcode

Post by MolhoPirata »

srslly i updated the software also and now I can't decode the files
Post Reply