Double extruder Setup

Post Reply
alil2096
Posts:38
Joined:08 Sep 2015, 16:50
Double extruder Setup

Post by alil2096 » 14 Jun 2020, 06:10

Good Morning everyone,

I've try to prnt with dual extruder configuration, but I've a big problem. The extruder dosen't work.

I'use a custom 3D printer, with Duet2 wifi board. The firmware are set correctly, because the two extruders are correcly show in Duet Web Control, and they work well with manual control (if I try to heat separatly the two nozzle and extruder with manual command all works well).

In KS I've created a new configuration for my 3d printer (attach), but I think there are some problem in g-code scripts.

When the print starts, the printer do home correctly, heat the correct extruder and bed (I'm trying with PLA and ABS, with PLA how first material and ABS how second material, The print is the classic bicolor cone), but after the heat the print starts without extrude anything (the feed dosen't move).

What I'm doing wrong?


Here my g-code scripts:

Prefix

Code: Select all

G21			;metric values
G90			;absolute positioning
M83			;set extruder to relative mode
M107                    ;star with fann off
M140 S<BED>		;heat the bed
G28			;home all
G28 Z			;home Z
M190 S<BED>		;heat the bed (and wait)
;G29 S2			;delete all heigh map
;G29                    ;auto bed level
G29 S1			; load the map. COMMENT AFTER TEST
G1 X10 Y10 F4000        ;move X/Y to front of printer
G1 Z15 F9000 		;move the platform to 15mm
M109 S<TEMP> T<EXT+0>	; Heat Extruder (and wait till it's hot)
G92 E0 			;zero the extruder length
G1 F200 E6 		;extrude 6mm of feed stock
G92 E0 			;zero the extruder length again
G1 Z0.4 F3000 		; move Z
G1 X100 E30 F600 	; purge nozzle
G1 Z0.2 F73000 		; move Z
G1 X150 F5000		; wipe
Preheat

Code: Select all

; heat the (next, then current) extruder without waiting
;M104 S<TEMP> T<EXT+0>
; Uncomment the previous line to enable preheat
Select New Ext & Warm

Code: Select all

;T<EXT+0>	; Select new extruder
G1 X80 Y200 F8000
M109 S<TEMP>	; Warm it up, and wait till it's warm
G92 E0		; flush a little
G1 E2 F200	; flush filament 2 mm at low speed
G92 E0
Another question: I've correcty set the offset between nozzle in KS (how in picture attached), but the visualizaion in Simplify3D is how shpowed in the second picture.
ks_settings.JPG
simplify_visualization.JPG
Please help me :D

Thanks a lot,

Andrea
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
ksh_germany
Posts:48
Joined:11 May 2019, 04:56
Location:Siegen, NRW, Germany

Re: Double extruder Setup

Post by ksh_germany » 15 Jun 2020, 05:56

Hmm.. You have a Kisslicer Pro/Premium Key? In FREE Edition Kisslicer want use 2nd/more extruder.

alil2096
Posts:38
Joined:08 Sep 2015, 16:50

Re: Double extruder Setup

Post by alil2096 » 15 Jun 2020, 06:36

Yes, I've a PRO key

Andrea

User avatar
ksh_germany
Posts:48
Joined:11 May 2019, 04:56
Location:Siegen, NRW, Germany

Re: Double extruder Setup

Post by ksh_germany » 17 Jun 2020, 23:08

Fine,
In Tab Select New Ext & Warm you have to remove the simicolon befor T<EXT+0>. This command is recommend for extruder changing

frozen.rabbit
Posts:130
Joined:17 Nov 2014, 09:20

Re: Double extruder Setup

Post by frozen.rabbit » 18 Jun 2020, 20:52

i've never run a dual machine, but shouldn't extruder 1 and extruder 2 not both be E axis?

Wouldn't that explain the offset in the slice result? KS is applying the offset at extruder change, but doesn't switch the extruder because they are set to the same axis.

alil2096
Posts:38
Joined:08 Sep 2015, 16:50

Re: Double extruder Setup

Post by alil2096 » 19 Jun 2020, 15:33

Thanks for the reply.

I've solved.

Frozen.rabbit: the name of axis is E for alla extruder, because then there is a number: E0, E1, ... . So, The letter E is for Extruder. You can change this letter for play with different axis for example.

ksh_germany: I don't undestand what I do, but now works well. I had already removed the simicolon.

I paste the gcode for future research ;)

Prefix:

Code: Select all

G21			;metric values
G90			;absolute positioning
M83			;set extruder to relative mode
M107                    ;star with fann off
M140 S<BED>		;heat the bed
G28			;home all
G28 Z			;home Z
M190 S<BED>		;heat the bed (and wait)
G29 S2			;delete all heigh map
G29			;auto bed level
;G29 S1			;load the map. COMMENT AFTER TEST
G1 X10 Y10 F4000        ;move X/Y to front of printer
G1 Z15 F9000 		;move the platform to 15mm
M109 S<TEMP> T<EXT+0>	; Heat Extruder (and wait till it's hot)
G92 E0 			;zero the extruder length
G1 F200 E6 		;extrude 6mm of feed stock
G92 E0 			;zero the extruder length again
G1 Z0.4 F3000 		; move Z
G1 X100 E30 F600 	; purge nozzle
G1 Z0.2 F73000 		; move Z
G1 X150 F5000		; wipe

Select new ext & warm

Code: Select all

T<EXT+0>	; Select new extruder
M109 S<TEMP>	; Warm it up, and wait till it's warm
G1 E10 F600	;extrude 10mm of filament
G92 E0		; flush a little
G1 E2 F200	; flush filament 2 mm at low speed
G92 E0

Cool & retire old ext:

Code: Select all

; Same extruder, about to deselect, maybe retract before cooling down
; RETRACT HERE IF YOU WANT
G1 E-10 F600	;retract 10mm of filament
G4 P0		;wait 0 milliseconds
M104 S<TEMP>	;set temp to warm temp
Thanks to all!

Andrea

Post Reply