Kisslicer documentation and some uestions

Tinchus2009

Kisslicer documentation and some uestions

Post by Tinchus2009 »

Hi all!
My name is Martin, I have been printing since 2 years so far, as a hobby. Since the beggining I use different slicers, so far is like to me there is no only 1 slicer, many of them have features unique or that work best in one than others. I never tried kisslicer, since now that I saw a video from mr Hackney. I decided to give it a try. And it surprised me. Some featues are really good! Some... are not, specially the lack of documentation/manuals.
I would preciate is somebody could explain me the following doubts/questions:

1.- it suprprise me the external quality of the prints. To my experience I have been trying t answer myself "why: , and I notice that path geenration is really much much better than in other slicers, and may be this is makeing that as paths are more "soft" regarding change of direction, islands, etc, may be that makes the hotend pressure to stay more stable, doing that printing quality is better? Am I right?

2.- I have not been able to find bridging settings, do they exist? how does kisslicer handles bridging? I can see in the color reference chart that bridges are detected, but can see any setting to control printing on them.

3.- I read in forum that adaptative layer exist, but how? It seems to be automatic but is there any ay to control it manually? Anly settings I found is in layer control settings in the form of setting min and max % of layer height. How daes kisslicer assign a layer height to the different parts of a print?

4-. Bottom stepover and top? what do they mean? The quick tip i get is that refers to how much each layer will overlap the previous one... but that means exactly that? Because that would create a lot of overextrusiuon in those layers if the default overlap is 50% is used..? o kisslicer also reduces flow to account for this? And wat is the purpose of this?

5.- What is the use for JOINT?