Awful artefacts on some surfaces? Just remove on parameter..

Awful artefacts on some surfaces? Just remove on parameter..

Postby Tutorius » 01 Oct 2017, 23:43

Hi,
i tried to print a wing for a RC-plane, and it went good, but i got some weird looking artefakts on my surface. The artefacts are those arcs that are marked, the z-wobble is a thing of my printer...

IMG_0743 (Kopie 1).JPG


So i watched my parameters in KISSlicer and found the guilty one...

KISSArtefact.jpg
KISSArtefact.jpg (49.3 KiB) Viewed 1084 times


Just leave the underlined parameter to "0" and don't put something inside. I had put the resolution of my X- and Y-axis there (0,00625mm) and the result were those nice artefacts ... :)
Tutorius
 
Posts: 18
Joined: 25 Aug 2017, 13:43

Re: Awful artefacts on some surfaces? Just remove on paramet

Postby lonesock » 02 Oct 2017, 18:12

Nice tip! Not having a minimum segment length does indeed give the best possible surface quality along curves like that.

The min segment length limit is useful because some printers will drop shorter segments...even consecutive ones! For example, if a path had 100 segments that were all 1/2 the minimum step size, the printer *should* ignore every other segment, but some firmware will ignore all the short segments until it finds a long segment. In that case you'd sometimes get a fat path traced directly across an arc! That's why the feature is turned on if a user entered the XY step size in the wizard...the artifacts from having it on can be better than ignored arcs. As an advanced user whose printer doesn't behave horribly, disabling it is ideal. [8^)

thanks,
Jonathan
User avatar
lonesock
 
Posts: 256
Joined: 09 Nov 2014, 18:41

Re: Awful artefacts on some surfaces? Just remove on paramet

Postby LaPointe » 03 Oct 2017, 00:28

Indeed, thanks for the tip!
I've tested it with my Prusa i3 MK2S last night and the surface quality of the piece I'm currently working is way better.
LaPointe
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 27 Aug 2017, 15:40

Re: Awful artefacts on some surfaces? Just remove on paramet

Postby Tutorius » 03 Oct 2017, 02:13

I am using a cheap china-CTC-prusa-clone, with changed hardware to a RAMPS-ARDUINO-system with marlin-firmware, and this combo seems to work well without this parameter.Perhaps some users who have printers with horrible behaviour about short segments can name their machines to make sure what firmware or printer type is affected?
Tutorius
 
Posts: 18
Joined: 25 Aug 2017, 13:43


Return to Tips and tricks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest